A Throwback Thursday that got me (and hopefully you as well) motivated to see more of this world.

tumblr_static_travel copy

I kinda missed out on my midweek motivational post yesterday (oopsie) blame it on those crazy work deadlines that got me working 10 hours a day. The hustle is too real. However it did give me an idea for a post combining a throwback Thursday that has me thinking about travelling and hopefully motivates me to go and see more places in the near future.

I’ve always known I wanted to travel and I’ve also always known that I wanted to go the US of A. So last year after consulting with a travel agency I impulsively booked a 10-day tour that started in New York and finished in Miami. I didn’t think about it much. I just booked it and worked out the details later. It didn’t give me much time to save but I made it work and it turned out to be the most amazing experience ever.

IMG_4164IMG_4180IMG_4335 IMG_4396 IMG_4427 IMG_4435 IMG_4465 IMG_4479 IMG_4480 IMG_4496 10402991_10152627487082463_8961412083367280579_nIMG_4546

I love how last minute and spontaneous everything was. Yes I was part of a tour but it pretty much lets you do whatever you wanted most of the time. Prior to going I had even met someone from the states who was here in Cape Town on a teaching workshop. When I went over I met up with him and we had a blast. Like those kinds of experiences are so priceless, I never once felt like I was unable to do anything and even at one point decided to run and play under some gigantic ass sprinklers in a park in Washington! Why not though?? I would also definitely say that the best part about travelling apart, from seeing new things, are all the different people you get it meet. We did so much crazy things along the way and formed bonds that no distance in the world could come between, which is amazing because now it gives me an excuse to go and visit them and make some more memories in a brand new place. This is definitely on the cards and I can’t wait for my next adventure.

IMG_4205 IMG_4319 IMG_4324 IMG_4347 IMG_4363 IMG_4520 Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 6.23.45 PMScreen Shot 2015-05-21 at 6.24.00 PM

You’re probably thinking “Ya ya you talk about travelling almost like its not cheap” and yes you are right, it does cost to travel…depending on where you go but I promise you and you can ask anyone who’s travelled before but going on adventures like these are investments…the kind that make you a better person, that makes you see things so much clearly and that gives you a fresh perspective on life.

My trip made me super broke…like completely but I don’t regret a single thing and if I had the opportunity I would go again in a heartbeat. There are so many beautiful things to see and experience in this world. Yes I know that’s a total cliché and everyone says it but what would make your particular experience unique to you is the way you handle it, the types of things you do and the crazy manner in which you do it.Untitled-2-01I hope this has got you motivated and I hope that next time you’re thinking about booking that tour, that you DO IT! There are no second guesses when it comes to exploring new places because my impulsive decision that day, gave me one of the best memories of my life.

Now where to go next???

Leave a comment